Back-Burner Books

rednewscan

Taking Chances 1: Lie To Me (Contemporary)

PROLOGUE:

  Alec couldn’t stop smirking at the guy sitting across the night club. He just looked so out of place. For some reason he also kind of seemed familiar, but for the life of him he couldn’t work out where from. All he knew for sure is somewhere he’d seen the guy’s face before. As he sat there watching he loved the fact it had taken the poor guy most of the night to work out he was one of the few straight men in the room.

  “You know you’re being mean,” the bartender said as he refilled Alec’s glass. “I can remember when another young pup wandered in, and didn’t know where he was until someone hit on him.”

  Alec chuckled, “That was over a year ago, Darius.”

  “Yeah, but as I recall you still needed somebody to rescue your sweet and extremely straight lily white derriere.” Darius slapped a perfectly manicured hand onto Alec’s arm. “So be nice and go rescue the poor guy before someone else decides to play nice with him.” Darius sighed wistfully as he watched the guy. “That boy is all kinds of yummy.”

  Slipping off his stool Alec waded through the dancers to where the guy sat. He wondered why he hadn’t left after he worked out Flashes was a gay bar, but then again even a year after finding out for himself, he still came here to drink. At least for him the clientele no longer tried to pick him up, they all knew he was Darius’s special friend. Well that, and sometimes he stood in as bouncer and stopped fights from breaking out, which was the role he was playing tonight.

  “Hi,” Alec said with a smile as he slipped into the seat opposite the guy who was probably only a couple of years older than himself. “You do know this is a gay bar, don’t you?” The guy’s eyes nearly bugged out of his head, which only made Alec grin harder. “Are you really sure you want to be here?”

  The guy nodded and Alec shook his head in disbelief. “You don’t look gay; you just haven’t got that vibe about you.”

  “I’m not,” he blurted out, “I just needed a place to hang where my girlfriend wouldn’t think to look for me.”

  Alec held out his hand. “I’m Alec. I’m tonight’s bouncer, and probably the only other straight guy in the club. Why don’t you come and sit with me at the bar. Unless of course you’re into spending the rest of the night getting hit on by every unattached guy.”

  “I’m…” the guy began as he shook Alec’s hand. “Um… I’m Max.”

  “Hi, Max, nice to meet you,” Alec said as he pulled Max to his feet, and led him over to the bar. “You look awful familiar to me. Have we met before? Darius, hit my friend Max here up with a beer. He’s having girl troubles.”

  “Ooh, darlin,’ here you go,” Darius said as he handed over the pot, “tell Aunty Darius all about it.”

  It brought a smile to Max’s face, which in turn made Alec get the warm and fuzzies. The guy Really did have a beautiful smile.

  “Darius’s a good listener,” Alec said quietly, reaching out he patted Max on the arm. “He’s sorted out a few of my troubles for me in the past.”

  Max seemed to think about it for a while as he stared down at the beer in his hands. “My girlfriend, Tia, she keeps,” he ran a hand through his hair, “she’s very…demanding. The problem is I have an ex, with whom I have a child, Lily, she’s three. Tia well she doesn’t want me to have anything to do with Lily or her mum. Rachel and I get on Really well and I can’t get Tia to understand that there is nothing that will get me to turn my back on my family.”

  “Honey, this Tia sounds like trouble. Family always comes first, baby cakes. Isn’t that right, Alec?”

  Alec nodded, there was nothing more important than your family whether they were with you or not. His own daughter, Jeanie was currently residing with her mother. Alec hoped it wouldn’t be that way for much longer as he was close to gaining full custody of his little girl. It wasn’t that Chrissie was a bad mother it was more she cared more about herself than anyone else in the world. The time he had been with Chrissie had been hard, because even back then he had begun to believe he was more attracted to guys than girls. The only good thing to come out of the relationship was Jeanie, and getting to know Gabriel. To be fair Chrissie only started behaving like this when she started dating George, and it had gotten worse since they had married. It had gotten so bad, Gabriel, Chrissies brother had rung and begged Alec to come and pick him up. This was going to give Alec the chance to check out the situation with Jeanie. His thoughts came back to the here and now when Max sighed deeply.

  “That’s not the only problem,” Max sculled his drink and Darius gave him another, “but the other problem is too sick to even think about.”

  “Baby, a problem shared, is a problem halved.” Darius patted Max’s arm.

  “How can I tell my father his sister keeps trying to have sex with me?” Max had already drunk quite a lot, so once he started talking it was like he couldn’t stop. “I’m heading home tomorrow, for the first time in four years. Dad isn’t well, and my brother and sister want me home. Tia’s supposed to be going with me, which isn’t making them happy because they don’t get on with her.”

  “Baby, have you ever thought about cutting her loose and finding someone nice?” Darius asked.

  Max looked so sad. “I tried breaking up with her, but it never went over that well. I also find it hard meeting people, and even harder to trust them,” he sipped his beer.

  Darius flicked on the house lights indicating that it was time to close up shop. “Do you have somewhere to stay tonight?”

  “Yeah, we’re staying in a motel. I wanted to try once again to get free of her but she… she…” his words trailed off in a slur as he laid his head on the bar.

  “Hon,” Darius said to Alec. “You can take off if you want, Mack will be here soon to help lock up. Make sure he gets home, or somewhere he can safely stay the night.”

  “Will do,” Alec said as he led Max outside.

  “Do you live far away?” Max asked. He reached out and the way he cupped Alec’s cheek made him step back before he had a chance to lean into the touch.

  Sometimes being him sucked.

  “I just have a couple of blocks to walk.” The longer he spent in the company of Max the more he wanted.

  “Can I walk you home?” Max asked shyly, and Alec hated himself for agreeing so readily.

  “Sure,” something deep down inside Alec twisted. This was a bad idea. A very bad idea. Because the guy had a girlfriend somewhere waiting for him, even if he didn’t really want her. They walked side by side in silence til they reached his door. “Well this is it. This is where I stay when I’m in town. Normally I live in an apartment behind my parents’ house.” Alec cringed inwardly, why the hell am I over sharing?

  “Can I come in? I don’t want to go back to Tia right now. I don’t want to have another argument.” Alec must have had a strange a look on his face because Max hastily added. “I’m not gay. I promise I won’t try anything.”

  Sighing deeply, Alec pushed the door open and allowed Max to pass him as they entered. Tonight was going to be tough. Especially, because there was only one bed in this place. He watched Max looking around the small Spartan apartment. Everything was all in one room, there was only two other doors besides the one they had entered through, which were a closet and a bathroom.

  “Do you want a coffee or something? I need to have a shower, so if you want anything I’ll have to make it now.”

  Max shook his head, “No, I’m fine,” he sat on the edge of the bed as Alec headed into the bathroom.

   Damn, the moment he stripped off and had the water going a knock sounded on the door.

  “Can I come in? I need to use the bathroom.”

  “The doors unlocked,” he said as he quickly stepped into the stall and shut the screen, and let the heat was down over him. Alec tried not to look through the glass to where Max stood relieving himself.

  Stepping out of the shower and wrapping a towel around his hips he said. “You can have a shower if you want.” He gesture over his shoulder toward the stall before he walked out of the room.

  Alec reluctantly pulled on his jeans to sleep as he hadn’t brought any PJ’s with him. He slipped into bed as he heard the shower, and tried not to think about Max being naked and wet only a few feet away. What the hell am I doing? Man, if Bastian could see me now he’d be laughing his arse off and Willow wouldn’t be much better. He looked toward the bathroom as the door opened.

  Max came out wearing only jeans and climbed into the bed. “I promise I won’t do anything. I just want to sleep.”

  Alec nodded and closed his eyes as he lay on his back in the dark. If he tried hard enough, he could pretend that this was one of Willow’s puppy piles, even if it did only have two puppies. The weird thing was he had only known Bastian and Willow for three and a half years and had become fast friends with the pair. Having best friends was a godsend sometimes. Alec froze when he felt Max’s hand touch his chest.

  “Thank you, Alec.”

  Alec stiffened, “Your welcome, now get some sleep.” He answered as Max rubbed his hand over his chest.

  Alec woke sometime close to dawn to find himself wrapped around Max’s body, and instantly knew Max was also awake. “I’m sorry,” he said as he suddenly rolled away putting some space between them.

  “It felt nice,” was the whispered reply as Max turned on his side to face him. “You made me feel safe, wanted. But just because I liked you holding me, it doesn’t mean I’m gay. Because I’m not,” he said as he moved toward Alec and wrapped his arms around him.

  What the hell is going on?

  Alec didn’t know what to do. How was he supposed to get himself out of this situation? It was only getting worse when Max pulled his face around so they could kiss. Alec inhaled sharply as Max’s tongue invaded his mouth in slow strokes and began exploring, and tasting him. His body shivered as Max’s fingertips ran seductively across his skin, playing with his painfully erect nipples. He fought as his own arms betrayed him and embraced Max, drawing him closer as their kiss deepened, sending jolts of electricity through his body. Man he was so screwed. He had to remember Max wasn’t single—he wasn’t free.

  “I’m not gay,” Max whispered like a mantra as his hands undid Alec’s jeans and pushed them down, “I’m really not.”

  “I know… you’re not gay,” Alec replied nervously as he helped remove his and then Max’s jeans. Tomorrow he was going to hate himself. He really, really was.

  “I just want you to touch me,” Max said shyly.

  He groaned as Alec lightly ran his hands over him as his mouth followed along the same path his hands had just taken.

  “Please,” he thrust his hips off the bed as Alec took him into his mouth. His hand reached out and brushed Alec’s long hair out of the way so he could watch.

  Alec closed his eyes; if he couldn’t see the naked man in his bed then this wasn’t really happening. This was so wrong, and he knew it… not just because they were both straight, but because they both had girlfriends waiting for them to come home… yep, definitely screwed.  He heard Max cry out with his release seconds before Alec tasted the seed that filled his mouth; only then did he let him go.

  Alec looked up to see tears in Max’s eyes. “I’m not gay… but I so want to have sex with you right now.”

  Alec crawled up his body and nodded; he brought their mouths back together before getting up onto his knees.  He inhaled sharply as he felt Max penetrate him with his spit coated fingers; stretching that most private part of him, but soon a warmth spread through him as Max’s hard shaft entered him and satisfied him in ways that no one had before.  “Can I come inside you?”  Max panted, his rhythm becoming erratic as he neared his peak.  “Sweet Jesus,” he cried out as he slammed into Alec over and over.

  They collapsed on the bed in a tangle of arms and legs, and just lay there until Max got himself under control.  “Do you want… do you want to do that to me?”  Max moved toward him when Alec nodded.

  Alec watched as Max lowered his face and went down on him.  Jesus Christ what the hell was he doing; he wanted to push Max away but it just felt so damn good.  He shuddered as Max’s mouth and tongue worked their magic on him.  Max had just cupped his balls when he exploded.  Max’s mouth explored his body on the way back up.  They kissed tenderly before Alec did something that he never thought he would ever do to another guy.

  Alec couldn’t help but look down to where their bodies were connected and it struck him that it looked beautiful.  He stopped and stared.

  “What’s the matter?”  Max looked back over his shoulder, “Just because I’m letting you do this, it doesn’t make me gay”

  Alec looked at him in confusion before closing his own eyes as he started moving again.  “It might not mean you’re gay, but I think it does for me,” his heart was pounding in time to the sound of their flesh slapping together, echoed by Max’s soft sounds of pleasure.  He had never felt this way before.  When he was with Mel, it was always nice, but this was… was… he lost his thought pattern as he fell over the edge into his desire.  His cock still buried balls deep inside another guys arse.

  Alec moved them so they were lying on the bed spooning; they didn’t speak as they drifted back into sleep.

  Alec woke to the sound of his door closing and knew that Max had gone.  Part of his heart cried out that something so beautiful had just walked out of his life.  Regretfully he pushed himself up and got ready to go home.

Leave a Reply

