Picture files.

13783994I have a lot of pictures that people have sent me, or that I have just collected over the years where I thought the person might make an interesting character. Usually, I have no clue who they are. Unless the people who send them to me gives me a name to go along with the face, or if I’m the one collecting the picture happens to find the name to go along with the face, I’m left pretty clueless. The other thing for character inspiration it might not be the whole face. Like this guy for example. For me, I liked the colour of his eyes and the shape of his beard. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a pretty good looking guy, but for the character I’m working on, I’d need to change a lot about him

5687962060_5696b166d2_bOther things I collect pictures of are buildings because they are useful when trying to set up where my stories are set. take for example this one, could be set in the far distant future where a great tragedy has befallen the human or alien populace, and nature has decided to take back over the planet. I keep all these pictures in files on a hard drive because I never know when I might need them.

Other things I might collect photos of are animals, such as creatures that could be used as shifters, or weapons used in fighting, or clothing that any of my characters might wear.  I honestly think it’s easier to keep these things on hand for future reference.

I know it sounds like I keep harping on about taking notes and keeping files etc… but it really is worth it, if you take the time to give it a go. Go on, try it for a couple of months and see if it could work for you. I bet you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a comment