Settings

Admetus 2Getting the setting right for each story is one of the main things you have to do. When I first started on Admetus Gaea 1: The Gaean Prophecy I had to figure out a whole new world. I even had to figure out their language and some other stuff before I could begin writing. This is but one of the continents on the world of Admetus and is basically where the first book is set.

I worked on this world on and off for many years before I ever wrote and submitted the story for the first time. I’m very attached to the place and the beings who live on this world.

My niece Leigh W even helped me come up with designs for flags for each of the tribes, packs, clans etc. She even helped me work on things like what they imported and exported. not that any of this made it into the book, but I had it for my own personal use if I needed it. We did all of this way back when we were both in our 20’s→ I’ll be turning 51 this Sunday coming up. Weirdly, I first came up with the concept for This book when I was 12 years old. It’s just one story that would never let go.

Okay, I’ve gotten off track. What I was trying to say is, when you think about starting a book. You should take the time to think about where it’s going to be set and write yourself out a detailed description of the where and the when. So when you need it you can always go back to it for reference. This is especially handy if you are not particularly familiar with the setting of your book. I don’t do it for the stories that are set in and around the area in which I actually live, because I know them well enough to note need notes→ though I do make note of all the businesses I use both real and made up, so I can re-use them in following stories if set in the same general area.

Leave a comment